United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), 1945

  • It is a UN specialized agency to promote world peace and security through international cooperation in education, the sciences, and culture.
  • It replaced League of Nations’ International Committee on Intellectual Cooperation.
  • Members: 193 member and 11 associate members.
  • Headquarter: Paris, France.
  • 53 regional field offices and 199 national commissions.
  • Parent organization: UN Economic and Social Council.
  • It covers 5 major program areas:
    • Education, Natural sciences, Social sciences, Culture, Communication or information.
  • Functions and Objectives:
    • To advance peace, sustainable development, human rights.
    • To improve literacy, technical training, advance science, independent media, cultural diversity.
    • To preserve regional and cultural history, to translate world literature.
    • To establish international cooperation agreements to secure World Heritage Sites of cultural and natural importance.


  • General Conference: It is the governing body of UNESCO.
    • It is composed of member states and associate members.
  • Executive Board: It manages UNESCO’s work.
    • It’s members are elected by General conference.
  • Director General: It is UNESCO’s chief administrator.
  • Note: UNESCO is a member of UN Sustainable Development Group.

Leave a Reply